SFCC Celebrates Academic and Athletic Achievement

SFCC Celebrates Academic and Athletic Achievement

State Fair Community College (SFCC) student-athletes, staff, Booster Club members, family and friends gathered on Tuesday night inside the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center to celebrate the 2018-2019 athletic year at the SFCC Athletic Awards Night.

Doug Sokolowski, a former radio broadcaster and SFCC announcer served as the Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

The event featured guest speaker Dave Slifer, the women's head basketball coach at the University of Central Missouri.

Coach Slifer shared his experience at Blackhawk East Community College, and how it helped shape his career as a collegiate coach. He spoke about influential books that had an impact on his life and career. Slifer also spoke about the two ways student-athletes can continue to grow as people. He believes that comes down to the books you read and the people you surround yourself with.

After Slifer's address, each SFCC head coach recapped their season and presented team awards.

Dean of Student and Academic Support Services Dr. Joe Gilgour was presented an Appreciation Award for his work as the public address announcer for Lady Roadrunners and Roadrunners basketball games, as well as other events in the Davis Center. Dr. Gilgour is leaving SFCC in July to become the President of Mineral Area College this summer.

Among the honors received were Academic Achievement Awards. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 to 3.74. College president, Dr. Joanna Anderson and vice-president for Educational and Student Support Services, Dr. Brent Bates presented the awards.

Baseball student-athletes receiving this award were Tyler Abney, Chris Brown, Brady Holden, Conner Hughes, Ian Jacobs, Alec Luyet, Brice Pannier, Matt Perego, Connor Spunaugle, Nicholas Visconte and Gavin Jones.

Softball student-athletes receiving this award were Emily Wilson, Macy Buzzanga, Reagan Hockett, Lauren Watkins, Victoria McCloud, Elizabeth Nimmer, Alissa Collette, Madison Love and Presley Floyd.

Men's Basketball student-athletes receiving this award were Alonde LeGrand, Malcolm Townsel and Trent Lyles. Women's Basketball student-athlete Aniya Harris also received this award.

Spirit Squad student-athletes receiving this award were Alexis Winfrey, Lacey Taylor, McKenna Rackers and Danielle Read.

Men's Soccer student-athletes receiving this award were Sebastian Castro Zankys, Reece Gabbert, Justin Gerke, Angelo Salomone and Vasbert Ledger.

Women's Soccer student-athletes receiving this award were Hannah Chapman, Karina Esquivel, Jorri Toone, Taylor Winfrey and Shelby Bain.

High Academic Honors (grade average of 3.75 to 4.0.) were awarded to L.J. Bryan (men's basketball), Abigail Rapp (Softball), Brett Holden (Baseball), Chris Koehler (Baseball), Jayson Ross (men's soccer), Andrea Ramos (women's soccer), and Sydney Rickel (women's soccer).

The Scholar Athlete of the Year, the night's most prestigious award went to L.J. Bryan (men's basketball), Alexis Winfrey (spirit squad), Brett Holden (baseball), Emily Wilson (softball), Macy Buzzanga (softball), Jayson Ross (men's soccer), and Andrea Ramos (women's soccer).

SFCC Athletic Director Darren Pannier closed the evening by thanking the members of the SFCC Athletic Staff and urging the student-athletes in attendance to make a difference every day and not to take anything for granted.

David Rohrbach

SFCC Athletics